Working cross-section or sub-region

rtweedrtweed Posts: 0
edited December 1969 in Hexagon Discussion

OK, this isn't something I've seen in any 3D package before (not that I'm an expert), so it may not exist, but -

Is there some way to select a subset of the current model, for example to take a slice by intersecting a box through the part of interest, and then hide the rest of the model from view so only the visible part can be selected / edited?

This would make it soooo much easier to tweak certain things in the top or side views. As it is, if you want to work on something that's in the middle of the model, all the stuff around it gets in the way.

I don't really want to physically slice the model up into sections, edit them and try to paste together later, because I need to maintain the smooth edges, i.e., if I move some vertices around, I want the edges connecting them to other vertices to be maintained, even if I can't see them.

If this isn't possible in Hexagon but is possible in some other modelling tool you know of, please let me know which ones(s). Alternatively, I'm open to any suggestions for a good way to work around this problem, other than just continually orbiting around in the perspective view trying to make out what is where, without any depth perception.

Comments

• rtweedrtweed Posts: 0
    edited December 1969

Hmm, looking for something else in the manual I found "Isolate Selection" (actually called "Show only selection") in the menu.

That does pretty much the opposite of what I want. It shows the whole current model and hides other models. I want to show more than one model, but only the selected faces / edges / vertices.

• dot_batdot_bat Posts: 373
    edited August 2014

there is Hide selected faces under display. select your subsection invert selection then hide selected faces

Post edited by dot_bat on
    edited December 1969