How do I ignore errors when loading scenes.

I am "remastering" old scenes that have assets that I don't have installed anymore. It takes a long time to load scenes, and I want to be able to walk away while loading and come back to a loaded scene. The problem is that the load process is stopped two times during loading by missing stuff, that I don't care about.

Is there a way to just load the scene and not get the pop-ups blocking the load process?

Comments

  • ebergerlyebergerly Posts: 3,255

    Yeah, that's something I'd like to see too. The closest I've found is under Edit/Preferences/Content, where you can select whether you want D|S to bug you when you try to overwrite something (load content to replace something of the same type). But I haven't found anything for when, for example, I move a texture image to a different folder and it bugs you to say it can no longer find it. It's good it lets you know, but it would be nice if you could have a selectable setting for that notification. 

  • This is very painful to hear.

  • Agree if it can't find the texture or a morph I only want to know about it in a log file. An option to ignore missing content needs a check box.

    I'll probably just find something else that works or there is an updated texture/morph and that is why the old one is missing.

  • PerttiAPerttiA Posts: 10,024

    BlueSirius said:

    Agree if it can't find the texture or a morph I only want to know about it in a log file. An option to ignore missing content needs a check box.

    I'll probably just find something else that works or there is an updated texture/morph and that is why the old one is missing.

    +1

    Yes, if the only option in the warning is "OK", there is no point in interupting the loading 

  • PerttiA said:

    BlueSirius said:

    Agree if it can't find the texture or a morph I only want to know about it in a log file. An option to ignore missing content needs a check box.

    I'll probably just find something else that works or there is an updated texture/morph and that is why the old one is missing.

    +1

    Yes, if the only option in the warning is "OK", there is no point in interupting the loading 

    Oh, good I thought I was crazy. I couldn't figure out why the program stops everything twice just to tell me it couldn't load everything. I can't change anything and I can't actually cancel anything.crying

  • AbnerKAbnerK Posts: 718

    Yeah, it's driving me nuts too at the moment. I'm updating some old scenes that were made two computers ago. Why does it warn you twice? It takes long enough to load scenes as it is. You want to click 'load' then go off and do something while it works, so frustrating to come back and find a warning message telling you it can't find something you deleted two years ago.

  • algovincianalgovincian Posts: 2,610
    edited August 2022

    Have you tried command line options?

    • Usage: <executable_path> [-option[ <value>]] [filename]

    • -noEmitLogMessages (since 4.16.1.26)

      • Suppresses emit of DzApp::fatalMessage(), DzApp::errorMessage(), DzApp::warningMessage(), DzApp::infoMessage(), DzApp::verboseMessage(), and DzApp::debugMessage() signals

    • -noPrompt (since 4.9.3.39)

      • Intended to be used in conjunction with Application Instancing options, in an automation pipeline, when launching application instances (e.g., via DzProcess) to perform discrete tasks

        • Whether or not the application (instance) was launched with this option is accessible via DzApp::showPrompts()

          • Script: if( App.showPrompts() ){ … } else { … }

          • Plugin: if( dzApp→showPrompts() ){ … } else { … }

        • If a dialog is not discretely suppressed, the invocation of a (non-progress) dialog will cause the object name and class name of the dialog to be recorded to the application log, and the application to be closed

        • If a message box is not discretely suppressed, the invocation of a message will cause the message text to be recorded to the application log, and the application to be closed

        • Crash reports (BugTrap) auto-save to ./crashes folder

      • This feature is not strictly enforced and may not be fully implemented or necessarily respected by 3rd party plugins or scripts

    http://docs.daz3d.com/doku.php/public/software/dazstudio/4/referenceguide/tech_articles/command_line_options/start

    HTH.

    - Greg

     

    Post edited by algovincian on
  • alan bard newcomeralan bard newcomer Posts: 2,174
    edited August 2022

    "do you want to save changes to the current scene" is not a bad question when you tell daz to load a new scene, 
    except when you just start the program and your empty startup scene is the only thing there, there are no changes because nothing has been done...
    I have to kill that one several times a day. 
    Considering that Daz can only function by tracking changes made... it's redundant to ask that on a blank scene that has not been used. 
    ---
    to a degree this is an issue that "bugs" many programs... I imagine most of the programmers are not heavy users. 
    Their goal, for instance, is to write code that warns you of problems but they don't deal with the results of it a couple times a day.
    --- 
    ////// sample code to offer alternative to save error messages or display them as they are generated/////
    if scene errors check if user said (just save to text box) then write messages to text box 
    else interupt loading 
    at end of loading if just save to text box = yes ... display text box
    close both text boxes on user command 
    end
     

    Post edited by alan bard newcomer on
  • algovincian said:

    Have you tried command line options?

    • Usage: <executable_path> [-option[ <value>]] [filename]

    • -noEmitLogMessages (since 4.16.1.26)

      • Suppresses emit of DzApp::fatalMessage(), DzApp::errorMessage(), DzApp::warningMessage(), DzApp::infoMessage(), DzApp::verboseMessage(), and DzApp::debugMessage() signals

    That suppresses signnals, but that would help only if the message box was triggered by a signal - I suspect it is rather triggered by the return values of processes.

    • -noPrompt (since 4.9.3.39)

      • Intended to be used in conjunction with Application Instancing options, in an automation pipeline, when launching application instances (e.g., via DzProcess) to perform discrete tasks

        • Whether or not the application (instance) was launched with this option is accessible via DzApp::showPrompts()

          • Script: if( App.showPrompts() ){ … } else { … }

          • Plugin: if( dzApp→showPrompts() ){ … } else { … }

        • If a dialog is not discretely suppressed, the invocation of a (non-progress) dialog will cause the object name and class name of the dialog to be recorded to the application log, and the application to be closed

        • If a message box is not discretely suppressed, the invocation of a message will cause the message text to be recorded to the application log, and the application to be closed

        • Crash reports (BugTrap) auto-save to ./crashes folder

      • This feature is not strictly enforced and may not be fully implemented or necessarily respected by 3rd party plugins or scripts

    http://docs.daz3d.com/doku.php/public/software/dazstudio/4/referenceguide/tech_articles/command_line_options/start

    Note that, if I understand correctly, these update the log close the application, which is not the desired behaviour.

    HTH.

    - Greg

     

  • alan bard newcomer said:

    "do you want to save changes to the current scene" is not a bad question when you tell daz to load a new scene, 
    except when you just start the program and your empty startup scene is the only thing there, there are no changes because nothing has been done...
    I have to kill that one several times a day. 
    Considering that Daz can only function by tracking changes made... it's redundant to ask that on a blank scene that has not been used. 
    ---
    to a degree this is an issue that "bugs" many programs... I imagine most of the programmers are not heavy users. 
    Their goal, for instance, is to write code that warns you of problems but they don't deal with the results of it a couple times a day.
    --- 
    ////// sample code to offer alternative to save error messages or display them as they are generated/////
    if scene errors check if user said (just save to text box) then write messages to text box 
    else interupt loading 
    at end of loading if just save to text box = yes ... display text box
    close both text boxes on user command 
    end

    Do you haev something set to load on startup/new? If so then the scene is chnaged. I don't get this issue.

  • my default scene loads library screeen across my three monitors positions and always includes (by daz I guess) the tonemapper and envirment things. 
    Any time I'm not building from scratch but tell it to load a new scene ... it immediatly asks save changes to scene and even if there was something in the scene ... it wasn't changed.
    =====
    again with the comment about programmers not using the program ...  I use sort order in my scene file --- and tone mapper and enviorment icons do not need to be part of it... 
    is there a way to suppress them?
    ====
    a brand new freshly opened daz ... nothing done and it always flashes the save changes message. 
    the big shot is a brand new open 420 next shot is the result of saying open 
    =====
    now it never complains if you save first ... so perhaps it's looking for changes after a save... if there are none you can open something or close the program without the message. 
    But if you've never saved than that must trigger the warning.

     

     

    startup screen.jpg
    8320 x 2160 - 1M
    changes.jpg
    1087 x 616 - 88K
  • algovincian said:

    Have you tried command line options?

    • Usage: <executable_path> [-option[ <value>]] [filename]

    • -noEmitLogMessages (since 4.16.1.26)

      • Suppresses emit of DzApp::fatalMessage(), DzApp::errorMessage(), DzApp::warningMessage(), DzApp::infoMessage(), DzApp::verboseMessage(), and DzApp::debugMessage() signals

    • -noPrompt (since 4.9.3.39)

      • Intended to be used in conjunction with Application Instancing options, in an automation pipeline, when launching application instances (e.g., via DzProcess) to perform discrete tasks

        • Whether or not the application (instance) was launched with this option is accessible via DzApp::showPrompts()

          • Script: if( App.showPrompts() ){ … } else { … }

          • Plugin: if( dzApp→showPrompts() ){ … } else { … }

        • If a dialog is not discretely suppressed, the invocation of a (non-progress) dialog will cause the object name and class name of the dialog to be recorded to the application log, and the application to be closed

        • If a message box is not discretely suppressed, the invocation of a message will cause the message text to be recorded to the application log, and the application to be closed

        • Crash reports (BugTrap) auto-save to ./crashes folder

      • This feature is not strictly enforced and may not be fully implemented or necessarily respected by 3rd party plugins or scripts

    http://docs.daz3d.com/doku.php/public/software/dazstudio/4/referenceguide/tech_articles/command_line_options/start

    HTH.

    - Greg

     

    -noPrompt seems to make daz studio either close or crash

    -noEmitLogMessages did not seem to suppress the pop messages.

    -logMissingProduct only seems to work for some items. (maybe dazconnect only)

    here is the last few lines of my log using noprompt and logmissingproduct

    2022-08-10 00:51:11.493 [WARNING] :: Could not resolve: /data/auto_adapted/NPR_Changing_Room_24536/geometry_6d9c2c87_4ae7_a1dc_df17_3fe09805f146/geometry.dsf
    2022-08-10 00:51:11.493 [WARNING] :: Could not resolve: /data/Nikisatez/BandeauBikini/Bikini Bottoms/UV Sets/nikisatez/Base/default.dsf
    2022-08-10 00:51:11.500 [VERBOSE] Missing Product :: (8976) Spa Changing Room and Showers
    2022-08-10 00:51:11.552 [WARNING] :: CloudLoginDialog(DzCloudLoginDialog) displayed while -noPrompt is used.
    2022-08-10 00:51:11.565 [INFO] :: Saving Custom Actions: C:/Users/*****/AppData/Roaming/DAZ 3D/Studio4 Public Build/customactions.dsx
    2022-08-10 00:51:11.572 [INFO] :: Saving Actions: C:/Users/*****/AppData/Roaming/DAZ 3D/Studio4 Public Build [B1]/actions.dsx
    2022-08-10 00:51:11.584 [INFO] :: Saving Menus: C:/Users/****/AppData/Roaming/DAZ 3D/Studio4 Public Build [B1]/menus.dsx
    2022-08-10 00:51:11.601 [INFO] :: Saving ToolBars: C:/Users/****/AppData/Roaming/DAZ 3D/Studio4 Public Build [B1]/toolbars.dsx

  • algovincianalgovincian Posts: 2,610

    heinzerbrew_f94794efff said:

    algovincian said:

    Have you tried command line options?

    • Usage: <executable_path> [-option[ <value>]] [filename]

    • -noEmitLogMessages (since 4.16.1.26)

      • Suppresses emit of DzApp::fatalMessage(), DzApp::errorMessage(), DzApp::warningMessage(), DzApp::infoMessage(), DzApp::verboseMessage(), and DzApp::debugMessage() signals

    • -noPrompt (since 4.9.3.39)

      • Intended to be used in conjunction with Application Instancing options, in an automation pipeline, when launching application instances (e.g., via DzProcess) to perform discrete tasks

        • Whether or not the application (instance) was launched with this option is accessible via DzApp::showPrompts()

          • Script: if( App.showPrompts() ){ … } else { … }

          • Plugin: if( dzApp→showPrompts() ){ … } else { … }

        • If a dialog is not discretely suppressed, the invocation of a (non-progress) dialog will cause the object name and class name of the dialog to be recorded to the application log, and the application to be closed

        • If a message box is not discretely suppressed, the invocation of a message will cause the message text to be recorded to the application log, and the application to be closed

        • Crash reports (BugTrap) auto-save to ./crashes folder

      • This feature is not strictly enforced and may not be fully implemented or necessarily respected by 3rd party plugins or scripts

    http://docs.daz3d.com/doku.php/public/software/dazstudio/4/referenceguide/tech_articles/command_line_options/start

    HTH.

    - Greg

     

    -noPrompt seems to make daz studio either close or crash

    -noEmitLogMessages did not seem to suppress the pop messages.

    -logMissingProduct only seems to work for some items. (maybe dazconnect only)

    here is the last few lines of my log using noprompt and logmissingproduct

    2022-08-10 00:51:11.493 [WARNING] :: Could not resolve: /data/auto_adapted/NPR_Changing_Room_24536/geometry_6d9c2c87_4ae7_a1dc_df17_3fe09805f146/geometry.dsf
    2022-08-10 00:51:11.493 [WARNING] :: Could not resolve: /data/Nikisatez/BandeauBikini/Bikini Bottoms/UV Sets/nikisatez/Base/default.dsf
    2022-08-10 00:51:11.500 [VERBOSE] Missing Product :: (8976) Spa Changing Room and Showers
    2022-08-10 00:51:11.552 [WARNING] :: CloudLoginDialog(DzCloudLoginDialog) displayed while -noPrompt is used.
    2022-08-10 00:51:11.565 [INFO] :: Saving Custom Actions: C:/Users/*****/AppData/Roaming/DAZ 3D/Studio4 Public Build/customactions.dsx
    2022-08-10 00:51:11.572 [INFO] :: Saving Actions: C:/Users/*****/AppData/Roaming/DAZ 3D/Studio4 Public Build [B1]/actions.dsx
    2022-08-10 00:51:11.584 [INFO] :: Saving Menus: C:/Users/****/AppData/Roaming/DAZ 3D/Studio4 Public Build [B1]/menus.dsx
    2022-08-10 00:51:11.601 [INFO] :: Saving ToolBars: C:/Users/****/AppData/Roaming/DAZ 3D/Studio4 Public Build [B1]/toolbars.dsx

    Sorry this didn't work for you and was a waste of time. The question has come up before, and that's where the command line suggestion came from:

    https://www.daz3d.com/forums/discussion/538146/can-you-shut-up-ds-error-loading-file-messages

    Maybe @Totte found a way to get this to work.

    - Greg

  • TotteTotte Posts: 13,957

    I've done tons of work around this, and all I can say is that Studio is very stubborn when it comes to errors. 
    -noPrompt will kill Studio as soon as a dialog or alert is shown as it tells Studio not to show anything.
    The easiest way I can think of is:
    - Open the file
    - let it display the error dialogs
    - have a script weed through the Scene node list looking for "dummy placeholder boxes", record the items, remove the boxes. 
    - save ther scene with a new name.

  • StratDragonStratDragon Posts: 3,167

    I've sumbitted a request for this. I've run into this in situations where Studio has hard coded a drive letter to the image path and it does the same thing

    ID 

    416988

     

    on some files a dialog about missing images will appear and stop the load from completing. an option to ignore these files silently without user intervention would be useful especially with large files and the operator is not sitting in front of the computer during the load process.
    this has been discussed in
    https://www.daz3d.com/forums/discussion/479946/how-do-i-ignore-errors-when-loading-scenes#latest

  • Totte said:

    I've done tons of work around this, and all I can say is that Studio is very stubborn when it comes to errors. 
    -noPrompt will kill Studio as soon as a dialog or alert is shown as it tells Studio not to show anything.
    The easiest way I can think of is:
    - Open the file
    - let it display the error dialogs
    - have a script weed through the Scene node list looking for "dummy placeholder boxes", record the items, remove the boxes. 
    - save ther scene with a new name.

    Thanks for confirming how no_prompt behaves.

    I have never done any scripting in daz. Are you saying run a script that allows you to open a scene and then it automatically accepts the errors for you?

    I was thinking about using a macro program that handles the confirmations.

Sign In or Register to comment.