Creating Content what I have to do

ExperimenterExperimenter Posts: 162
edited April 2015 in Hexagon Discussion

I am new in the creating of content. I want to creat a few rooms maybe a full house but I have a problem with the number of polygons.
I know more polygones are better but if I look after other rooms and there polygonframes they look very simple. Ohter objects like the new SciFi rifle have so much polygons for the details (for example a round part at the back of the weapon is an own half ball with at least 12 sections). So what should I do?

For example this is a step I made for a room with different floors. The sides normaly are plaine but for the result in DAZ I have to split it with the triangular function. Is the polygons are good or should I break the stairs in more polygons? And what should I do with walls and floors?

Test_Steps.jpg
912 x 772 - 88K
Post edited by Experimenter on

Comments

• JimmyC_2009JimmyC_2009 Posts: 8,891
    edited April 2015

For modelling buildings, I suggest that you look at the tutorials available on the GeekAtPlay website
    http://www.geekatplay.com/hp4.php

There is one on how to create steps as well.

There are four series of tuts on Hexagon by Gary Miller

Post edited by JimmyC_2009 on
  • LegalizeAdulthoodLegalizeAdulthood Posts: 115
    edited December 1969

The documentation also has an example of making stairs using the multiple copy tool.

• StratDragonStratDragon Posts: 3,167
    edited December 1969

Studio is not going to hiccup with the amount of polygons your looking to use but I tend to stay away from triangles and use 4 faces, I've used more than 4 but 3 is not recommend, or it wasn't at some point.