DAZ Scripting: a strange experiment!

Greetings,

This time it's a weird one wink

For the visual style i want to achieve i'm perfectly happy with the iRay Preview only. I basically never render, just save the iRay Preview drawings and then do some little postwork in Photoshop.

Now i'd love to try some animations with the same style, but as @crosswind once said to me in the forum that's not possible, either you render an animation in iRay, Filament or OpenGL.

Since i'm stubborn (and i do programming work for a living) i've been thinking to create a script that does this:

1. select the first frame of an animation (currently in the timeline, of course)
  2. load iRay Preview for, lets say, 10 seconds
  3. save the current viewport drawing
  4. select the next animation frame
  5. keep going until the last frame

Now, for the question: since i don't have a lot of free time i'd like to know in advance if that's feasible with the DAZ scripting system/language, before i start studying it. Or, if is not, if there is a better way to achieve this goal (that doesn't include doing each step manually wink)

a big Thank You in advance

Comments

• PraxisPraxis Posts: 242
    edited September 7

Short answer: Yes! (I use this often)

---Basic method: Output an Image Sequence, then use e.g. VirtualDub to stitch into a movie----------------

var OutPutPath = '/MyFiles/';

var FileNamePrefix = 'MyMovie_';

var MSecsPerFrame = 3000;     // Depending on Scene, Renderer (Iray/OpenGL/Filament/etc.), and GPU speed

var Viewport = MainWindow.getViewportMgr().getActiveViewport().get3DViewport();

// For each Frame # Fnum:

Scene.setFrame( Fnum );

sleep( MSecsPerFrame );

// Save Image:
              var NumStr      = Fnum.toString();      // You may want to '0'-pad this
              var FileSpec    = OutputPath + FileNamePrefix + NumStr + '.png';

// Note: With Iray this outputs the Viewport contents,
              //  which may be different from the Viewport Camera dimensions, etc.