Can't extend roof to form overhang

I'm new to Hexegon, have always used models available on the web. So this is totally got me confused...any help would be appreciated.

I am trying to build a building face for a VUE scene, I have the face, with the roof created using the sweep surfaces tool, as shown in the Geekatplay Hexagon projects, set one.tutorials, #6 video Modeling Windows part three.

See attached imaage for more.

The problem seems  to be that I can't get the "gizmo" he shows to extend the roof line down and outward to add the additional length of the roof sides.

Actually, in all the work I have done on this model, following the videos - i usually did not see this "gizmo" appear. Is there a setting that I need to work on to see this?

Hex-scrn.jpg
1932 x 1068 - 451K

Comments

• RoygeeRoygee Posts: 2,247

Hi and welcome to the forum:)

See that funny ghost looking icon in the top left corner of the screen that is greyed out?  That is the universal manipulator you are looking for - click on it and it will appear.

As fpr ectending the roof - difficult to say without seeing a wireframe of your model.  At a guess, I'd say select the edge of the face you want to extend, hold down Ctrl and drag on the arrowhead facing the direction you want it to go.  You may need to set the orientation from "world" to "local: to get the arrow to face in the right direction.

• OrcaSoulOrcaSoul Posts: 119

OK, thanks - I realised I can create a roof from 2 forms, set the length for the overhang and match the other demensions - was actually easier.

But...I had assumed that the peak was at 90 degrees (because the bottom and height were both 12 feet. didn't quite fit, the angle is off.

So, I can rebuild the wall to get the perfect angle - or find the angle of the peak and use that to fit the custom roof to the wall.

Can I do this in Hex? Dose the program have a way to showthe angle in degrees? It would also be great to be able to sho the distance between two points.